Penne Pasta Bake

27 Feb

I was trying to replicate a pasta dish I had a couple weeks ago. This wasn’t quite it but was great in itself. My sister said she’d gladly pay for it in a restaurant so I must have done something right 🙂

Time: 25 minutes              Serves: 4-6

Ingredients


  • 2 cups penne pasta, cooked according to instructions ( I salted & added a bit of olive oil in the water)
  • 2 cups marinara sauce (store bought or home made, my recipe: marinara sauce)
  • handful of fresh basil leaves, cleaned & torn
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • crushed red pepper to taste
  • **Please note: these measurements are approximations and not exact. When I made this I used a couple handfuls of pasta which I think equals out to 2 cups as listed. Prepare it according to your liking in terms of sauce:pasta:cheese ratios.

How to make it


  • Preheat oven to 375F.
  • Mix cooled pasta, sauce, basil, and half of the cheese in a bowl. Transfer to an 8×8 casserole dish and top with remaining cheese and place in oven. Bake for about ten minutes, until the cheese melts through.
  • Change setting to broil @ 400F and broil for about 2 minutes or just until the top begins to brown slightly.
  • Remove from oven and allow to cool momentarily. Top with crushed red pepper to taste.
2 Responses to “Penne Pasta Bake”

  1. Andrea (questfordelish) February 28, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Looks so delish. Nothing like melted cheese on top of pasta. It makes me drool every time.

    • detroittokyo February 28, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Oh yeah, me too with the melted cheese & pasta combo 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

