Sherae’s Baked Mac & Cheese

9 Jan

My beau’s Aunt Sherae’s recipe is perfect to me and I consider myself a mac & cheese connoisseur. I just love it and I hope you do too!

Time: 10 min prep, 30 min cook             Serves: 4 entrees/6 sides

Ingredients


  • 8 oz. elbow macaroni, cooked al dente in salted water & cooled (I used cavatappi and ran cold water over it to cool quickly.)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups milk (I used 1 cup)
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted & cooled slightly
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 4 cups shredded extra sharp and sharp cheddar (I used sharp only and it was great), 1 cup reserved
  • *Be sure to have items cooled properly where specified otherwise you’ll end up starting to cook the eggs and that won’t be good.

How to make it


  • Preheat oven to 350F. Prepare an 8×8 casserole dish or similar with cooking spray.
  • Combine all ingredients (except reserved cup of cheese) in a mixing bowl and stir to incorporate. Pour into casserole dish and top with remaining cheese. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Transfer to top rack of oven, turn on broiler to 425F and broil for about 2 minutes or until top reaches golden brown crispiness desired.

One Response to “Sherae’s Baked Mac & Cheese”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baked Havarti Cavatappi with Mushrooms & Spinach | detroittokyo - April 5, 2013

    […] this household. We’ve tried countless recipes but hands down our favorite is my beau’s Aunt Sherae’s version of baked mac & cheese.  I’ve mixed it up a bit from time to time with variations like Port Wine Cheddar Mac & […]

Leave a comment