White Chocolate Pistachio Cookies

26 Feb

This cookie recipe came about when my beau requested something buttery but didn’t give me much more to go off of. So, we started tossing some ideas around based on what was in the pantry and here is the result. I think these would be lovely with dried cranberries or cherries added as well. These cookies are a great way to celebrate World Pistachio Day!

Time: 20 minutes           Serves: 24

Ingredients


  • 3/4 cup butter, room temp (can probably get away with 1/2 cup but we wanted them very buttery)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 3/4 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)
  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped pistachios

How to make it


  • Preheat oven to 350F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  • Cream butter and sugars together. Add milk, extracts, and egg. Mix well. In a separate bowl combine flour, salt, and baking soda. Slowly add flour mixture to butter mixture and mix until well incorporated.
  • Gently fold chocolate chips and nuts into dough. Form balls about 1 tbsp each and lightly flatten (just about half way down). Be sure to leave room between cookies b/c they will spread as they bake.
  • Bake in middle rack for 10-15 minutes. 10 minutes will yield softer cookies, 15 more crisp. We baked ours for 12 minutes and they were crispy on the outside and soft in the centers.
  • Transfer to cooling rack. Once cooled, store in an airtight container.

Find interesting facts about pistachios here.

4 Responses to “White Chocolate Pistachio Cookies”

  1. Trader Joes Recipes February 27, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    I love pistachios and white chocolate, I bet they are wonderful together. Thanks for the recipe.

    • detroittokyo February 27, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Thank you very much for your comment on my White Chocolate Pistachio Cookies recipe. Let me know if you get a chance to try them!

  2. Julia {The Roasted Root} February 27, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Changing it up from macadamia nuts to pistachios is brilliant! I love the flavor of pistachios! Glad I found your site

    • detroittokyo February 27, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      Thank you so much for your comment on my White Chocolate Pistachio Cookies! I’m flattered 🙂

Leave a comment